Get Help Now @ 256.216.6698
Athens State University Knowledge Base
 
 
 

Getting a Link and FAQs

Getting a Video Link in TechSmith Knowmia to Submit to an Instructor

TechSmith Knowmia FAQs

 

Getting a Video Link in TechSmith Knowmia to Submit to an Instructor

There will be times when you will need to submit a video to your instructor or to classmates for review.

To do this, you will need to get a link to the video you have created in TechSmith Knowmia.

NOTE*:  When sharing videos, you, your classmates, and instructor will have to login to Knowmia to view using their athens.edu or my.athens.edu email address.

To share a video which you have created:

Login to Knowmia by going to https://athens.techsmithrelay.com and entering your login credentials.

In the My Library section, find the video that you want to share and click on the thumbnail to open the video.

mceclip0.png

Click the Share button under the video.

mceclip1.png

You will be presented with a Share Media dialog box.

mceclip2.png

In the Who Can View This Media section, click the down arrow and select the option relevant to your situation. It is recommended that you select Only people at Athens State University with the link.

mceclip3.png

Click the Copy button to copy the URL to your clipboard.

mceclip4.png

Notice that Copy is now Copied!

mceclip5.png

Paste the link into the location to share with other such as in an email or Blackboard course assignment folder.

 

Be sure to follow all of the instructions given by your course instructor when sharing or submitting the link.

Back to Top

 

TechSmith Knowmia FAQs

How do I access my account?

You can access your TechSmith Knowmia account by visiting https://athens.techsmithrelay.com.

 

What is my username and password?

Your username will be your student email (example@my.athens.edu) and the password will be something that you created. If you do not remember your password or you never set one, you can click the Having Trouble link on the sign in page and follow the prompts to reset the password.

 

How do I create a video in TechSmith Knowmia?

To begin recording videos in TechSmith Knowmia, you will first need to install the Knowmia recorder. Once you’ve successfully installed the recorder, follow these instructions to begin recording videos.

 

How do I upload a video?

Follow the step by step instructions located here.

 

What if I want to upload a video from my phone?

Once you have logged into your TechSmith Knowmia account for the first time, you can use the TechSmith Fuse app to connect your mobile device and upload videos to Knowmia. Instructions can be found here.

 

How do I share a video with someone else?

Sharing Knowmia videos with your instructors and classmates is simple. Click here to view step-by-step instructions. *Note that the person you share the video with must be logged into their TechSmith Knowmia account to view your video.

 

Can I save videos in my TechSmith Knowmia account to my computer?

Yes. Follow the steps below to download a video from your Knowmia account.

Open the video inside TechSmith Knowmia

From the video watch page, click More, then select Download
mceclip6.png

The video appears in your Downloads folder as an MP4 file. 
Note: Any quizzing, conversations, captions, or analytics does not appear in the downloaded MP4 file.

 

Why don’t I see the Edit Video option?

The Edit Video option only appears under videos you’ve added or copied to your own media library. Videos linked from YouTube cannot be edited, and in order to edit someone else’s video, he or she would have to give you ownership of that video.

 

Will I need to re-share my video after I edit it and publish a new version?

If you edit the original video, the URL will remain the same and any LMS links will remain intact. If you edit and publish a copy instead, that copy will have its own unique URL, so you may need to re-share the new link and/or update any links in your LMS.

 

Should I edit a copy or the original video?

If your goal is to remove mistakes or misinformation from your video, and you don't mind losing quizzes, captions, or analytics, edit the original so that you don’t have an outdated video in your library. If you want to make an alternative version of a video that has less information, make a copy and edit that instead.

 

What’s the difference between 'Save' and 'Publish'?

Saving your changes stores unpublished edits with the file, but does not publish a new version of the video. If you re-enter the video editor, you should see your existing edits. To commit your changes for others to see, you will need to publish the video.

 

Can I undo changes I’ve already published?

You can always access the video editor on any video you own and restore the original video; however, the undo stack is cleared every time you publish. So, if you’ve published a video several times, you cannot revert to just any previous state. You can work with the current version to remove previous edits, or restore the original and recreate any necessary edits.

Back to Top

Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments